Star Community Newspapers
The Dallas Wind Symphony will herald the beginning of each concert during their 2010-2011 concert season with works from seven American composers, as a result of their 2010 Fanfare Competition.

“We’ve been holding our Fanfare Competition since 2000,” said Wind Symphony Founder and Executive Director Kim Campbell. “This year’s competition drew eighty-two entries from an international array of composers. We were delighted to see such widespread interest in writing for the wind band.”

Winners of the 2010 Fanfare Competition include: Steve Smith of Lantana, Texas, for Capilano Fanfare; Taylor A. Goodson of Montville, New Jersey, for Fanfare For a New Beginning; Robert Bruns of Aberdeen, Maryland, for Peregrine Flight; Mike Forbes of Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, for Festival Fanfare; Henry Dorn of Memphis, Tennessee, for Shadows; Ralph R. Hays of Gansevoot, New York, for Fanfare MMX; and Daniel M. Pfannstiel of Spring, Texas, for Apollonian Ascent.

Fanfare in Meyerson Lobby

One of the winning fanfares, sponsored by Star Community Newspapers, will be performed in the lobby of the Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Center before each of the Dallas Wind Symphony’s seven subscription season concerts.

“The pre-concert fanfare has become a tradition for the Wind Symphony,” Campbell said. “They’re short, upbeat, and like a little cocktail to set a festive mood for the beginning of the evening. It’s really cool to see six or seven hundred people gather on the concert hall steps to listen, before they go on into the hall to enjoy the main program.”

In a new partnership between the Dallas Wind Symphony and area colleges, wind ensembles from Baylor University, Texas A&M University—Commerce, the University of Texas at Arlington, the University of Oklahoma, Louisiana State University and Texas Christian University will each travel to Dallas to perform one of the pre-concert fanfares this season.